Montrail Gear of the Year 2014
Swipe for more images

Men's Rogue Fly™

# 1440801

Details GM2143
$44.98 $90.00
Our lightest and most minimal trail shoe designed for those who see the "more" in "less."
Pronation: Midfoot Forefoot
Use: Varied Trail
Foot Type: Neutral


Product Actions

Add to cart options
Add to Wishlist


  • Weight: 7.6 oz / 215 g
  • A “Micro“ 3-point lug design for extreme lightweight multi-directional traction, combined with full-length Gryptonite™
  • Horizontal and vertical flex grooves provide forefoot flexibility
  • Ride Height: 18 mm heel, 8 mm forefoot
  • Simple, all mesh upper construction creates a minimal, lightweight fit and feel with uparalleled breathability and "seamless" nature
  • Low profile midsole for flexibility and a fast responsive feel on the trail
  • Combined external TPU shank and Trail Shield™ for support and traction

Size & Fit

Size Chart

Montrail Size Chart
USA 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5
UK 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10
EU 40 40⅔ 41⅓ 42 42⅔ 43⅓ 44 44⅔
CM 25 25.5 26 26.5 27 27.5 28 28.5
Mens cont.
USA 11 11.5 12 13 14 15 16 17
UK 10.5 11 11.5 12.5 13.5 14.5 15.5 16.5
EU 45⅓ 46 46⅔ 48 49⅓ 50⅔ 52 53⅓
CM 29 29.5 30 31 32 33 34 35
USA 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5
UK 3.5 4 4.5 5 5.5 6 6.5 7
EU 36 36⅔ 37⅓ 38 38⅔ 39⅓ 40 40⅔
CM 22 22.5 23 23.5 24 24.5 25 25.5
Womens cont.
USA 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12
UK 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5
EU 41⅓ 42 42⅔ 43⅓ 44 44⅔ 45⅓
CM 26 26.5 27 27.5 28 28.5 29


Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 9 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dopest Shoe Fly. 3rd Pair. Upset they stopped making these. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite running shoe in 5 years This is my 3rd pair of the Rogue Fly. Unfortunately it seems like you have discontined it. I went ahead and bought one last pair before it was too late to find it. So what are you recommending to replace it? I use this shoe for road and trail. It is very multi purpose with a good traction for road and trail. I do feel a few more rocks on the trail but this is a minimal shoe. I find the heel toe drop to be very "natural" feeling. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Race Shoe I ordered this shoe because I wanted a shoe that was basically a road flat but with the traction/protection for trail running in the Northeast US (rocks/roots galore). This shoe fits the bill perfectly. I run 10ks with this primarily and it is comfortable with no hot spots. I typically race sockless (for off-road tris) and have never had a problem with blisters or anything. It loses points because I have found on long runs (over 15 miles) that my feet take a pounding but considering I got more for 10k races, this shoe is great. I'll stick with these as long as I can get them June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great transition/hybrid shoe Since I’ve been wearing normal drop shoes and lamenting the cancellation of the Brooks Green Silence (one of my favorite all time shoes), I went on a search for a trail/hybrid version of my beloved GS. My criteria was simple: Hybrid design for road/trail, lightweight, and a moderate drop (6-10mm). Here’s what I found in the Montrail Rogue Fly. The design. Built very much like the Green Silence, the seamless Rogue Fly has a 10mm drop which scared me at first, coming from a zero drop SKORA or my 8mm Green Silences. A seamless and very thin upper is made from what appears to be the same material as the Brooks and an open lacing design is reminiscent as well. All in all, a good looking shoe, although the MONTRAIL letters on the side is a bit obnoxious. Weight. This thing is light! My size 12 Green Silence weigh 9 1/4 oz, while these beauties come in at 9 5/8 oz, an almost imperceptible November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Trail Shoe This shoe was amazing right out of the box. The fit was great. Because it a minimally constructed trail shoe its light and hugs the foot well. With 10 mm drop its just right to blast on downhills and still work on uphills. I use to run in minimal shoes (i.e. barefoot) but I couldn't use them on trails for very long. This shoe is the best of both worlds. Minimal enough for me with just enough cushion. They fell good on roads, surprisingly, but I wouldn't recommend to do all road miles in these. The colors look great in person too. All around a solid shoe that I would highly recommend. I tried on the rogue racer and it bothered how it fit around my toes and these just worked perfect. October 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not quite "neutral" I wanted to love this shoe, but I had a few complaints and will be returning. This is allegedly a neutral running shoe, however a 10mm drop is pretty substantial for a "neutral" shoe (IMO). I also found these shoes to run a little bit small (slightly less than a half size) and very narrow. If you have a wider foot these will not work well at all. The forefoot is especially narrow, which is problematic for those who are used to running barefoot or have used other minimal shoes (not saying any names). I have been running barefoot for a few years now and found these shoes just wouldn't work. I have a friend who loves them however, he just doesn't run barefoot at all and has a slightly narrow foot. I'm not saying they're a bad shoe, just not for me - or anyone with a wider forefoot. If you're looking for something really neutral, look elsewhere. October 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worthy of an award I originally read about these shoes in Outside Magazine and they have definitely lived up to the hype. I've been running in these for the last few weeks and I've never worn a more comfortable trail running shoe. For your longer trail runs, you won't find a better ride. June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible! What a great minimalist running shoe! These shoes are everything I've been looking for and haven't been able to find anywhere else. It barely feels like you have anything on when you run in these. I would highly recommend these to anyone in the minimalist trail running market. Nice work Montrail! June 1, 2012
  • 2015-11-26 T10:15:45.591-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_GM2143, prod, sort_default
1-9 of 9