Swipe for more images
Sale

Men's Mountain Masochist™ II

# 1454671

Details

GM2141
$69.90 $100.00
Lightweight and responsive, with medial posting for support and stability on aggressive terrain.
Pronation: Heel Midfoot Forefoot
Use: Rugged/Technical/Groomed
Foot Type: Pronate

Product Actions

Add to cart options
Add to Wishlist
SHARE

Features

  • Weight: 10.8 oz / 306 g
  • Big, angled blades at the forefoot dig deep for grip on loose terrain
  • Ride Height: 20 mm heel, 10 mm forefoot
  • FluidPost for cutomized support on any terrain
  • Webbing and strap closure system provides exceptional fit and comfort for the long run
  • Gusseted tongue keeps out debris
  • Fit Notes: Snug midfoot and open toe box
  • Full foot Trail Shield™ protects the foot from rocks and trail debris
  • Lightweight, compression molded EVA and low profile midsole provide a responsive ride

Size & Fit

Size Chart

Montrail Size Chart

Mens
USA 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5
UK 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10
EU 40 40⅔ 41⅓ 42 42⅔ 43⅓ 44 44⅔
CM 25 25.5 26 26.5 27 27.5 28 28.5
Mens cont.
USA 11 11.5 12 13 14 15 16 17
UK 10.5 11 11.5 12.5 13.5 14.5 15.5 16.5
EU 45⅓ 46 46⅔ 48 49⅓ 50⅔ 52 53⅓
CM 29 29.5 30 31 32 33 34 35
Womens
USA 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5
UK 3.5 4 4.5 5 5.5 6 6.5 7
EU 36 36⅔ 37⅓ 38 38⅔ 39⅓ 40 40⅔
CM 22 22.5 23 23.5 24 24.5 25 25.5
Womens cont.
USA 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12
UK 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5
EU 41⅓ 42 42⅔ 43⅓ 44 44⅔ 45⅓
CM 26 26.5 27 27.5 28 28.5 29

Reviews

Men's Mountain Masochist™ II 4.3 5 14 14
Best shoe I've ever owned I have a somewhat narrow foot but these shoes fit me perfect. The footprint is solid and secure when approaching unstable terrain. The grip could go a little deeper, but it is intended to be a running shoe and not a "hiking" boot (which is why I'm using them). Even in shallow puddles my feet remain dry. Love this shoe. January 3, 2015
great shoe for wide over pronators I have wide feet and over pronate and these are the most comfortable shoes period, not just running, and I don't have to use my orthodic inserts. December 19, 2014
Hiker This my favorite shoe. Even over my boots. August 29, 2014
Not right for me I've been a runner for over forty years and have never experienced a shoe that actually hobbled me. I took these on a exceedingly tough hill run that was all up for 7 miles then down. I couldn't walk afterwards. I have a really narrow foot and no arch. if you have similar conditions, think twice. Thank god they took the shoes back. Great customer service! August 27, 2014
Great walker / hiker The most comfortable shoe I've ever owned - twice. Excellent durability, mid-sole is still responsive after two years, toe cap a big plus, side straps allow for a perfect fit and the laces will last till the next century. If the Masochist II is still around I'll buy another pair. The best engineered shoe in the last 40 years! August 19, 2014
Not as grippy as the old Hurricane Ridge? Hi - I love Montrail trail running shoes, and have been running them exclusively for the last 10 years: two pairs of much loved Hurricane Ridge shoes (also trekked in them up to 4,500m); and two pairs of Mountain Masochist 2s (normal and Goretex). They fit well, run well , wear well and look good. My only complaint is that the gryptonite sole is not as good as the lugged Hurricane Ridge sole - in wet/slick clay soil conditions the sole doesn't dig in enough, and I find myself sliding and losing confidence in my footing (which means I have to slow down). I live in the French alps, and run regularly from March - December (all times except when the snow is too deep and/or icy) so perhaps it's tough to expect them to do everything well ... but the Hurricane Ridge shoes did everything. Great shoes, but I'd love a gnarlier sole! August 1, 2014
Solid shoe, but.... An absolute knock out feel to these shoes. Super Solid. Feels great and no blisters at all! I've hit rain, mud, slippery rocks and all are no problem. I do have two issues and both involve durability. One is that I have put only about 120 trail miles on them in the last month or so since I bought them and they are already starting to come apart at the sole in the rear. The other issue is that the sole itself has become compressed substantially at the outer edge of the pinkie toe/foot joint on both shoes. I'm really disappointed in that. Otherwise, I've never found a shoe that feels so good on the trail. July 31, 2014
Overall Great Lite Hiker Reviews around the web were generally positive for both this shoe and its earlier version. There's even a very thorough YT video that finally convinced me to give them a shot. As an ultralight backpacker I wanted a sturdy, quick-drying, very light, grippy trail runner to use for hiking. After a few weekend trips I am overall satisfied with the quality (exceptional) and design (expert). While the shoe runs true-to-fit one problem is the tight toe box. I had read another review that mentioned this and thought it might be rare. However, any buyer would want to try Masochist II's out first to ensure they're not too snug in the front. June 16, 2014
Trail Slippers Fellow Trail Runners, Just when you feel your feet are revolving doors. You find that one magical pair of shoes. Right out of the box they have not let me down. I have worn them during the east coast winter and out to the southwest desert and my feet are still entranced with the cushioning, grip, and top quality. It's like I'm wearing miniature 4x4's on my feet without the weight or bas gas mileage. Montrail Genius Shoe Developers/Montrail Excutives, Hybrid shoes are great but you gotta keep the hardcore break glass trail shoes in the Montrail arsenal. Understand there are many like me who are entranced with the quality of these products. I would like to see the Mountain Masochist X. With every other year providing additional tweaks to my custom 4x4 runners. Loyal Mountain Masochist wearer Alohaminnesotan February 18, 2014
Awesome shoe but the tread needs work I love the fit of this shoe! I usually wear custom orthotics but I can wear this shoe without orthotics when I'm just out and about. It has great arch support. However, I do wear my orthotics when I'm running in them. My only complaint is that some of the lugs/tread is starting to come off and I only have around 100 miles on the shoe. I was able to solve the problem with shoe glue, but I also had a similar problem with a different Montrail shoe a couple of years ago. I will run in these as long as they hold up. Planning to do a trail 50K with these in March. The grip is amazing in mud or on rocks! Has plenty of cushion and protection, but not too beefy of a shoe for me. I will consider purchasing another pair, but this is the 2nd Montrail shoe that I've worn and had problems with the sole and tread. Not a big deal but an area that Montrail should try to improve. Awesome fit! January 31, 2014
2 next>>