Reviews

Men's Mountain Masochist™

Average Rating

(10)
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(2)

Average Fit

Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large

AndyClimber

Cape Town, South Africa
Jun 16, 2013

Legeng

Really nice shoe but alas they are no longer available in South Africa. They would be better with a more aggressive sole like inov8 and please can we have some more support for the flat footed folks [ie anti pronation]

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



Calster

NSW, Australia
Jan 8, 2012

Like it ..... BUT!!

I am a midfoot striker and not a real speedster. I'm in Oz so it is mostly hot dry running. I like this shoe but there are a few things I would note: The good: The shoe fits really well with enough room in the toebox and a snug but cushy fit around the ankle. The grippy sole is faultless. The shoe runs well in hot weather doe to good ventilation for a trail shoe. The cushioning in the heel is very nice and it is quite soft when you need to use it on downhills. The bad.... The front half and back half of the shoe don't match. The front is much harder than the back. This means that the transition is a bit odd and on downhills it slaps your forefoot down. The rockshield has no effect. I would suggest that the rockshield is replaced with 3mm of EVA giving a flatter ride (8mm) but matching up the front and back better. It's a personal review .. just my opinion.

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



Doron

Israel
Nov 7, 2011

Rugged Trail Running

Wonderfull shoe, hold the fit like a glove, good traction but could be better on wet surface. very light and durable.

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



Dougal1

Cumberland, MD
Oct 3, 2011

Great shoe but....

I was going to a Scouting event and bought both the low and high version of this shoe. Fit, grip, feel, waterproofness is perfect. The Mountain Masochists feel like an extension of your feet. My problem is that I need more support. The low top version does not give me that. I was camping for two weeks in Sweden and the rain was prevalent. My feet stayed dry all the time, it was perfect. The shoe is cool and the feel is great.

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



dbconlin

Tacoma, WA
Sep 26, 2011

Best of All Worlds

These shoes are the best of all worlds - lightweight, breathable and slightly "minimal" yet sturdy and supportive enough for long runs for those that can't go completely minimal/unstructured. The heel-toe drop is a mid-range 10 mm (as reported by manufacturer and confirmed at home by me) which is not so much as to alter my stride, yet eases calf/achilles strain for the longer runs. I would usually choose a more minimal shoe for short runs, but these are just the ticket for endurance trail running. I also use them for hiking, backpacking, etc. My only complaint - and this is pretty minor given all the pluses - is that the fabric really soaks up water like a sponge and takes quite a while to dry. It drains well, but remains soggy. I wish they could provide as much comfort with less material so it would dry faster, but perhaps that is asking too much.

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



dosomething

Pasadena, CA
Sep 18, 2011

my favorite shoes

I love this shoes. Light weight, well cushion, super comfortable, amazing traction, and most important is it keep my feet cool while running in hot summer trail. I run my 50k with this shoes last month and absolutely LOVE it. I went out and buy a second pair right after I finish my 50K.

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



andyb

London, UK
Jul 23, 2011

Superb anti-pronation, grip, breathability and fit

Finally I was able to throw away my home-made arch-lifting insoles that I needed in my other running shoes (Mizuno, NB, Asics) - the pronation control design of these is a far more sophisticated design than just a harder bit under the arch, the entire footbed is designed around it. No more shin splints. The grip is great and the anti-rock plate design is very good too. The lack of goretex is, for me, an advantage since it allows the water to drain out rather than pool in the shoe, and in hot weather the breathability is superb, I can feel the airflow over my foot. One key thing about these is that the heel cup is actually quite low inside, meaning that the foot is quite 'flat' from heel to toe, i.e. you are not angled forward by high heel cushioning - this means you can actually use this shoe in a bare-foot style, running on your toes instead of heel-striking. Great colours too!

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



Duke

Burlington, VT
Jun 9, 2011

Best runner I've had in years

It'd unfortunate to hear about that de-lamming issue, but these were some of the best trail runner's I've ever worn. Comparable to the Soloman XA-Pro, only tougher and with better traction, more breathability, and significantly more support for pronation. The 1" black band on the instep also helps keep some pressure on the arch to support an insole. These shoes started out as a hopeful trail shoe and quickly became my go-to footwear for anything active. They run a true "C" width, though widen out around the webbing (I'm a healthy "D"); I eventually blew out the toe-box sidewall around the same time I wore through the tread. Time for a new pair!

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



shoeless

Annapolis, Md
May 11, 2011

Worst pair of montrails i have ever owned.

I bought two pairs of theses shoes one in the masochist and the masochist gtx. The gtx are great, however after two weeks of just trail walking and slight up hill running the the "base" model the sole of the shoe started to peel. After another two weeks i'm down to half souled shoes. maybe I should have invested an extra $15 and got two pairs of the GTX.

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large



Jenner

PDX
Mar 10, 2011

Like AC for your feet!

These shoes are so light, grippy and well ventilated it amazing! The fit is just right and feels like a casual set of slippers. These shoes will be with me for many adventures and many more rugged miles. The

Fit
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Large